Liberty High School honors athletes

Posted 6/22/24

LIBERTY, NY — The Liberty High School Athletics Department hosted the Athletic Block "L" Awards banquet on June 6 in the high school gymnasium.

The event honors the varsity …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Liberty High School honors athletes


LIBERTY, NY — The Liberty High School Athletics Department hosted the Athletic Block "L" Awards banquet on June 6 in the high school gymnasium.

The event honors the varsity scholar-athletes who participated in Liberty sports during the 2023-24 school year.

The banquet began with remarks by athletic director Erin Alvord and featured a buffet dinner. The ceremony began with a tribute to Javon Islam, who would have been a senior this year but passed away in May 2023. His football helmet, a baseball cap with his number, and a photo—which will be displayed in the school trophy case—were presented to his family.

Before the student-athlete awards began, Alvord recognized two longtime coaches, Anne and Carpio Ramos, who are retiring. Anne coached girls' soccer from 2003 to 2023, and alpine skiing from 2021-24. Carpio coached girls’ soccer for 25 years, starting in 1999; and alpine skiing starting in 2013.

Redhawk Awards

Student recognition began with the presentation of the new Redhawk Award. Students who receive the award are chosen by their coaches for often working the hardest and demonstrating great sportsmanship, teamwork, dedication and commitment. 

Receiving the award were:

Boys’ soccer: Bryan Jimbo and Luis Molina Gonzalez

Girls’ soccer: Haylee Gomez

Football: Christopher Rodgers

Fall Cheer: Sherlyn Garzon and Shelby Clack

Boys’ basketball: James Dworetsky and David Philips

Girls’ basketball: Haylee Gomez and Angela Wheeler

Boys’ indoor track and field: Anthony Lemus

Girls’ indoor track and field: Elaina Rameriz

Skiing: Aiden Yaun

Winter Cheer: Lorena Chevalier and Soleil Ocasio Lombardi

Baseball: Matt McCoy

Softball: Brooke Hessinger, Elaina Ramirez and Alesandra Rivera

Girls’ outdoor track and field: Brooke Bull and Rayanna Cottman

Boys’ outdoor track and field: Nathan Desrochers and Carlos Campos-Castro

Girls’ golf: Maria Abreu

Scholar Athlete Awards

Seventy-six students earned scholar athlete awards, for carrying at least a 90 average while playing a sport: Quinn Allen, Endya Alvarez, Alvord Zackary, Sheyla Anguisaca-Llanos, Cristian Argenal, Josue Artiga Martinez, Mia Barragan, Jill Baumander, Shawn Bickham Jr., Zachariah Bickham, Brooke Bull, Carmela Burgio, Kevin Cando, Eyanna Castro, Phoenix Cordero, Olivia Corrigan, Rayanna Cottman, Jake Cross, Alan Cruz, Noellia Cruz Cruz, Colin Dasraj, Nevaeh Davis, Eli Desrochers, Lorna DeWitt, James Dworetsky, Jayla Edwards, Alexandra Etess, Sara Fajardo Reyes, Sydania Foster, Juanita Garcia Lopez, Haley Gill, Lia Guillerme, Peyton Hadjstylianos, Starriah Harris, Claudia Herzog, Adam Houser, Misael Juarez Perez, Julia Juron, Jacob Kelly, Madeline Kelly, Zoe Kip, Joshua Kratz, Shea-Leigh Kristiansen, Audrey Krum, Kenisha Ledoux, Gianna Lewis, Roger Lynker III, Kimberlin Malaga Gonzalez, Brenna Mangan, Melany Manzanares Orellana, Matthew McKoy, Mariely Medina Orellana, Luis Molina Gonzaliez, Owen Moore, Elizabeth Navarrete, Joseu Nunura Galan, Soleil Ocasio-Lombardi, Lesly Panama, Giselle Payton, David Philips, Adriana Ponce Agredano, Elaina-Louise Ramirez, Alesandra Rivera, Joseph Sarney, Jeremy Simon, Justin Simon, Mason Smith, Amy Szuba, Allison Vasko, Benjamin Visconti, Austin Werlau, Angela Wheeler, Cameryn Will, Aaden Woolard, Aiden Yaun and Sebastian Yupanqi.

Coaches’ presentations

The following awards were also presented.

Boys’ soccer

Defensive Players of the Year: Benjamin Visconti and Carlos Campos-Castro

Most Improved: James Dworetsky

Girls’ soccer

Most Valuable Player: Noellia Cruz

Outstanding Offensive Player: Angela Wheeler

Outstanding Defensive Player: Brenna Mangan

Most Improved Player: Elizabeth Navarrete


Offensive Most Valuable Player: Enrique Mercado

Defensive Most Valuable Player: Jameel McCline

Most Valuable Player: Enrique Mercado

John O'Hearn Most Improved Player: Aydan Wilson

2023 Coaches Award: Joshua Kratz

Cross country 

Most Outstanding Runner: Colin Dasraj


Most Valuable Offensive Player: Aaliyah Williams

Most Valuable Defensive Player: Kayla Samuel

Coaches Awards: Mya Huebsch, Claudia Herzog and Mykenzi Williams

Fall Game Day Cheer 

Most Valuable Cheerleader: Heidi Brown

Coaches Award: Haley Gill

Most Improved Cheerleader: Endya Alvarez

Boys’ basketball

Ivan Richards MVP Award: Riley Totten

Most Improved Player: Jeremy Simon

Offensive Player of the Year: Riley Totten

Defensive Player of the Year: Enrique Mercado


Most Valuable Wrestlers: Shawn Bickham Jr. and Zoe Kip

Coach's Awards: Adam Houser and Tarek Benadim

Rookie of the Year: Zachariah Bickham

Boys’ indoor track and field 

Most Outstanding Field Event Award: Nathan Desrochers

Most Outstanding Runner: Carlos Campos

Most Improved: Joseph Sarney 

Girls’ indoor track and field 

Most Outstanding Runner: Sydania Foster

Most Outstanding Novice: Brooke Bull

Most Improved: Rayanna Cottman

Alpine ski 

Most Valuable Skiers: Hudson Danzilo and Brenna Mangan

Most Improved Skiers: Jake Cross and Cameryn Will

Coach's Award: Aiden Yaun 

Girls’ basketball

Ivan Richards Most Valuable Player: Destiny Loyce

Most Improved Player: Julissa Velez 

Sportsmanship Award: Mya Huebsch

Winter Game Day Cheer 

Most Improved Cheerleader: Alesandra Rivera

Most Valuable Cheerleader: Melany Manzanares Orellana

Coaches Award: Elyanna Ocasio-Lombardi 


Defensive Player of the Year: James Dworestky

Offensive Player of the Year: Justin Simon

Coaches Awards: Zack Alvord and Aidan Yaun


Most Improved Player: Mya Huebsch 

Outstanding Offensive Players: Quinn Allen and Aaliyah Williams

Outstanding Defensive Player: Nevaeh Davis

Coaches Award: Olivia Dworetsky

Boys’ outdoor track and field

Most Outstanding Novice: Roger Lynker

Most Outstanding Track Athletes: Christopher Rodgers and Joseph Sarney

Most Outstanding Field Athletes: Joshua Kratz and Zachariah Bickham

Most Improved: Alan Cruz and Kevin Leon Gavilan

Girls’ outdoor track and field 

Most Outstanding Track Athlete: Sydania Foster

Most Outstanding Novices: Starriah Harris and Adriana Ponce Agredano

Most Improved: Jill Baumander

Boys’ tennis

Most Valuable Player: Josue Nunura

Coaches Award: Sebastian Yupanqui

Most Improved Player: Misael Juarez Perez

Boys’ golf 

Coaches Award: Jeremy Simon 

Most Improved Golfer: Owen Moore

Girls’ golf 

Coaches Award: Mia Barragan

Most Improved Golfer: Elizabeth C. Cruz

Special recognition awards

Ross Awards

Boys’ soccer scholar-athlete: Ben Visconti

Girls’ soccer scholar-athlete: Elaina-Louise Ramirez

Rattner Award 

Boys’ basketball scholar-athlete: David Philips

Girls’ basketball scholar-athlete: Kenisha Ledoux

Goodstein Award 

Wrestling Perseverance: Manuel Lopez

Kavleski Award 

Boys’ track and field scholar-athlete: Phoenix Cordero

Girls’ track and field scholar-athlete: Jill Baumander 

Fred Planica Award 

Most Improved Baseball Player: James Fancher

Buchal Awards

2024 Most Valuable Baseball Player: David Philips

2024 Most Valuable Softball Player: Angela Wheeler

Senior presentations 

Elizabeth "Betty" Totten Sportsmanship Awards: Riley Totten and Noellia Cruz Cruz

Liberty Rotary Club Perseverance Awards: David Philips and Aaliyah Williams

Tom Kelly Award Outstanding Senior Athletes: Enrique Mercado and Mya Huebsch

Liberty High School, athletic awards


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here