24 Pennsylvania counties to reopen on May 8, Wayne and Pike to remain closed


HARRISBURG, PA — Gov. Tom Wolf announced on Friday, May 1 that 24 PA counties will soon move to a “yellow reopening,” while the other 43 counties—which includes Northeast counties like Wayne and Pike—will remain under a stay-at-home order. 

Starting May 8, the yellow phase in Wolf’s three-phase, color-coded plan for reopening the commonwealth lifts restrictions on certain businesses and social interactions in selected counties. Schools, gyms, indoor recreation centers, hair and nail salons and large gatherings will not resume for counties in the yellow phase. Restaurants and bars will remain restricted to take-out and delivery.

On Monday, May 4, Wolf’s administration will publish guidance for businesses that are permitted to reopen in the yellow-phase counties.

Click here to learn more about how the governor decided which counties to reopen and which to keep closed.

Click here to see the commonwealth’s COVID-19 economic recovery plan.

Support local journalism.

We are making all coverage of the coronavirus available for free. Please consider subscribing or donating so we can continue to bring you the latest news and information on this developing story. Visit www.riverreporter.com/subscribe

Interested in making a tax-deductible donation to fund local journalism? Visit www.givebutter.com/theriverreporter.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here