The River Reporter Special Sections Header

Clear sky
Clear sky
39.2 °F
April 24, 2014
River Reporter Facebook pageTRR TwitterRSS Search Login

History converges at Ten Mile River; Remembering an ‘army’ that planted trees

Civilian Conservation Corps enrollees are seen relaxing and keeping the barrack clean.
Contributed photos


The history of the Ten Mile River CCC Camp and the TMR Scout Camp are intertwined. In the 1920s, when FDR was governor of New York and had been involved for years with Scouting, he was part of a group of Scout officials charged with finding a large parcel of land to be the home camp for the New York City (NYC) Scouts. After raising $1 million to purchase and develop 10,000 acres of woodlands in Sullivan County near Narrowsburg, the NYC Scouts took possession of their camp. The deed was recorded on October 7, 1927 in Monticello, NY.

Just six years later, in October 1933, CCC Camp 65 was established, operating for several years until the program was terminated. During that time, CCC enrollees helped establish roads, fire trails and communication lines from Scout camp to Scout camp.

The CCC’s 80th anniversary

The museum at TMR is the unifying element of the 80th anniversary event of the CCC. The large collection of memorabilia of both the CCC and TMR includes local coin collections, 2,000-year-old Indian arrowheads and other tools discovered in the rock quarries found on the camp property. There will be displays by local historical societies and the National Park Service. A comprehensive video collection includes the PBS documentary “The C.C.C.”

TMR/CCC day on August 4 is open to the public from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Admission and parking are free. According to event curator David Malatzky, this is a “must-see” for lovers of nature and local history and a great outdoor experience for the whole family.