33.8 °F
December 04, 2016
River Reporter Facebook pageTRR TwitterRSS Search

Into the sunset

Drew Billard was the recipient of this year’s Coaches Award; he was a candidate for the Most Valuable Senior Athlete, won a David Curreri Memorial Scholarship and was the boys golf team’s Most Valuable Golfer. He is pictured with his dad, Lionel Billard who was also his ski coach.

By Richard Ross
June 19, 2013

SULLIVAN COUNTY, NY — The fields, track and golf greens are quiet now, but the memories of this spring’s sports heroics and the accolades and awards merited by such were the focus of the Sullivan West spring sports awards on June 17. In addition, the meritorious performance of seniors elicited its own words of praise and a series of special awards.

After welcoming words from high school principal Scott Haberli, athletic director Dave Franskevicz lauded the boys track team for its NYSPHSAA Scholar Athlete status predicated on 21 athletes who helped meet the standard, far more than the 12 normally required. Reed Scott and Hannah Feinman were Section IX Scholar Athletes. Franskevicz introduced the coaches who offered words of praise summing up their teams’ seasons before presenting their awards. Details of individual accomplishments can be found in a forthcoming blog on www.sportsinsights.ny.com.

Award winners were as follows: softball (Coach Mike Ellmauer) Katie Slater Most Valuable Infielder, Marianne Durkin Most Valuable Outfielder; baseball (Coach Jim O’Connor): Sawyer Erlwein Coaches Award, Brad Hemmer Rookie of the Year; girls golf (Coach Patrick Donovan): Nour Goodfriend Most Improved Golfer, Daphne Muzuruk Most Valuable Golfer; boys golf (Coach Bob Fife): Ryan Graham Most Improved Golfer, Drew Billard Most Valuable Golfer; boys track and field (Coach Ron Bauer): Reed Scott Most Valuable Track Athlete, Mitch Paciga Most Valuable Field Athlete; girls track and field (Coach Joe Seidl): Courtney Meyerer Most Valuable Track Athlete, Hannah Feinman Most Valuable Field Athlete.

Next on the program was the announcement of the coveted senior awards. The recipients of this year’s Coaches Awards were Hannah Feinman and Drew Billard. The Milt Gaebel Award Winners were Dani Myers and Reed Scott. Candidates for this year’s Most Valuable Senior Male Athletes, also known as the Select Seniors, were Jonah Bauer, Tyler Bernitt, Drew Billard, Matthew Cardona, Sawyer Erlwein, Eric Haberli, Brad Hemmer, Adam Murphy, Blain Reddish, Reed Scott, Andrew Siegel and Gregory Stevenson. The 2013 Most Valuable Senior Male Athlete was Sawyer Erlwein. Female Select Seniors were: Hannah Feinman, Olivia Grady, Dani Myers, Cassidy Sauer, Kaitlin Slater and Kaitlyn Taylor. The 2013 Most Valuable Senior Female Athlete was Cassidy Sauer.