33.8 °F
December 04, 2016
River Reporter Facebook pageTRR TwitterRSS Search

The last hurrah

JEFFERSONVILLE and GRAHAMSVILLE, NY — Sullivan West and Tri-Valley closed out their 2011-12 sports years with athletic awards nights on June 14 and 15 respectively with laudatory speeches, trophy and plaque presentations, a bevy of smiles and tears and this photographer’s final musical slide show. Sullivan West Athletic Director Dave Franskevicz took a moment to honor the memory of Rob Potter, a devoted and affable sports writer for the Sullivan County Democrat, who passed away on May 31. Franskevicz also praised retiring Superintendent Dr. Kenneth Hilton for his unflagging support of Bulldog athletics during his tenure. He lauded scholar athletes Kristina Sumfleth and E.J. Franskevicz, as well as the NYSPHSAA Scholar athlete teams that included boys golf, softball and boys track. Sullivan West’s boys golf team won the Division IV title for the ninth year in a row, while the softball team won its division for the second time in the past three years.

The night’s biggest award winner was Kristina Sumfleth, who was named this year’s recipient of the coveted Billy Moran Scholarship. In addition to receiving the $2,500 award from the Moran family, Sumfleth was also named the Most Valuable Senior Female Athlete and the Most Valuable Field Athlete. E.J. Franskevicz was touted as the Most Valuable Senior Male Athlete and the Baseball MVP. Kassie Thelman and John Masten won the Milt Gaebel Awards. Masten was also the recipient of the David Curreri Memorial Scholarship, and received a $1,500 award from the Curreri family. Amanda Rosenberger and Andrew Parsons were the Coaches Award winners. Rosenberger was also the Most Valuable Female Track Athlete.

Other award winners on the night were as follows: Reed Scott, Most Valuable Track Athlete; Mitchel Paciga, Most Valuable Field Athlete; Kitt Borowski, Most Improved Baseball Player; Katie Taylor, Most Improved Softball Player; Hannah Schwatz, Highest Batting Average in Softball; Drew Billard, Most Valuable Male Golfer; Devon Muzuruk, Most Improved Male Golfer; Daphne Muzuruk, Most Valuable Female Golfer; and Erin Finn, Most Valuable Female Golfer.

Tri-Valley Athletic Director Derek Adams also honored Potter with words of praise and a moment of silence. He then presented a pair of plaques to track coaches Joe and Missy Iatauro. Joe received the William F. Moran Service Award for Representing the Highest Educational Standards in Section IX, while Missy was the recipient of the New York State Athletic Administrators Award For Distinguished Service To Athletics. The baseball team won its first Section 9 title since 1990, while the girls track team won their sixth Section 9 title in a row. Coaches proceeded to call their teams to the stage, praise their collective and individual efforts and present trophies to a select few.

The night’s honorees were as follows: Jimmy Bernstein, Golf MVP and Boys Track Co-MVP; Conor Walsh, Golf Coach’s Award; Dion Lynch, Golf Most Improved Player; Joe Mickelson, Baseball MVP; Shawn Markel, Baseball Most Improved Player; Steve McInerney, Baseball Coach’s Award; Erin Smith, and Rachel Adriaans, Softball Co-MVPs: Amanda TerBush, Softball Most Improved Player; Emily DiToro, Softball Coach’s Award; Mareena DiMilia, Katlynn Greffrath and Autumn Bender, Girls Track Co-MVPs; Ally Reynolds, Girls Track Most Improved Player; Olivia Rehm, Girls Track Coach’s Award; Brendan Tierney, Boys Track Co-MVP; Aidan Woolsey, Boys Track Most Improved Player; Josue Ramos, Tennis MVP; and Stephen Carlson, Tennis Most Improved Player. Tri-Valley NYSPHSAA Scholar Athlete teams included boys and girls track and golf.

This concludes the sports coverage for the 2011-12 sports year. Watch for much more when the 2012 fall campaign gets underway in September. Visit www.sportsinsights.smugmug.com for albums of photos from the awards nights as well as events through the years.

For photos of the award winners, see our print edition for July 21.