Clear sky
Clear sky
12.2 °F
December 11, 2016
River Reporter Facebook pageTRR TwitterRSS Search


Photos by Richard A. Ross, Liberty’s Amanda Bertholf and Joe Franke were this year’s Tom Kelly Award Winners awarded to the outstanding athletes of the senior class.

At Liberty’s Block ‘L’ awards night, Amanda Bertholf and Joe Franke were named as the Tom Kelly Award winners for the Outstanding Senior Athletes. Other top senior awards were as follows: Elizabeth “Betty” Totten Award went to Rebeccah Harman and Cosmos Fitzpatrick, and the Rotary Club Perseverance Award was awarded to Nikole Snyder and Anthony Covington. At Fallsburg’s 2012 “Comet” Varsity Awards Banquet, the senior trophy winners were: Student Government Association Award, Morgan Vegliante and Corey McKeon, the Fallsburg Comet Booster Club Award to Shanice Mack and James Bertholf and the Outstanding Senior Athlete Awards to Michael Robinson and Celia Garcia. Monticello’s Senior Night revealed Sean Reuss as this year’s winner of the coveted Mayor’s Trophy. Reuss was not on hand as he was playing in the upstate-downstate All-Star football game at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse. Reuss will attend the University of Maine on a full football scholarship.

Doctor of Sport winners, who earned at least nine varsity letters including their senior year, included the following, with the number of letters earned in parenthesis: Erica Concors (10), Kaitlyn Fisher (11), Ryan Heins (9), Rachel Klein (9), Ian Kolaitis (11), Bryanna Sewell (11) and Rebecca Wood (9). For full coverage of the award winners from Liberty, Fallsburg, Monticello, Sullivan West and Tri-Valley, watch for an upcoming article on Photos of the recipients can be seen at