Port opens its doors for home tour
July 26, 2012 —
PORT JERVIS, NY — The Port Jervis Council for the Arts will present its first tour of local historic homes and gardens, “Three Painted Ladies and a Southern Belle,” on Saturday, August 4 from 1 to 4 p.m. Guests are invited to tour the four sites in any order during the three-hour period while enjoying live music and refreshments.
Built in 1823, 21 East Main St. originally featured a massive Antebellum structure, which was later updated with a Greek Revival façade with grand columns, pediment and fan window. The 1912 Victorian home at 1 Elizabeth St. has been restored to its historical style, with chestnut staircase, music room featuring a 100-year-old baby grand piano and Victorian garden. The stately 1890 Queen Anne home at 61 Sussex St. presents original carved woodwork, stained glass windows, period reproduction chandeliers and fixtures and a large backyard pool and garden. Perched on the Neversink Ledge overlooking the river, 238 East Main St. was built in 1890 and boasts pocket doors, stained glass windows, fireplaces, decorative gardens and a mountain view.
Tickets cost $20, available at the door, or $15 in advance at UpFront Exhibition Space, Gina’s Hope Chest, Tri-State Chamber of Commerce or ERA Meloi Realty or the Milford Craft Show. Proceeds will support Arts Council activities. Email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 845/856-6741.