Clear sky
Clear sky
28.4 °F
December 04, 2016
River Reporter Facebook pageTRR TwitterRSS Search

News in brief

FEMA and state disaster aid available to renters
ALBANY, NY — New York State renters who lost their home or personal property as a result of Hurricane Irene’s flooding may be eligible for assistance from the New York State Office of Emergency Management (NYSOEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

“Disaster aid is not limited to homeowners,” said state coordinating officer Andrew Feeney. “Eligible residents who sustained damages in this disaster can receive assistance thanks to state and federal rental support programs designed to help them get back on their feet.”

FEMA offers funds to rent alternative housing for a limited period of time while repairs are made to their dwelling. Renters may also be eligible for a program designed to help survivors with uninsured, but necessary, expenses and serious needs caused by the disaster, such as medical and funeral expenses.

Residents can apply for assistance at www.disaster or by calling 800/621- 3362.

State and federal officials also urge those affected by the floods and storms to have their furnaces checked for damage to make sure they are ready for winter.

PA included in disaster declaration

WASHINGTON, DC — The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced on September 13 that federal aid has been made available to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and ordered federal aid to supplement commonwealth and local recovery efforts in the area affected by Tropical Storm Lee beginning on September 3, 2011.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured or underinsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.
The action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Adams, Bradford, Columbia, Cumberland, Dauphin, Lancaster, Lebanon, Luzerne, Lycoming, Montour, Northumberland, Perry, Schuylkill, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Union, Wyoming and York.

It is not yet known if residents in Wayne County will also become eligible for FEMA funds.